Entura partners with RCR Tomlinson to deliver Yaloak South Wind Farm

February 14, 2017

Specialist power and water consulting firm Entura is partnering with engineering and infrastructure company RCR Tomlinson to deliver Pacific Hydro’s 30MW Yaloak South Wind Farm in Victoria, Australia.

RCR’s scope of work includes engineering, procurement, construction (EPC) and commissioning of the Balance of Plant works, which comprises site access roads, hardstands, fences, drainage, wind turbine foundations, substation, electrical reticulation and control system. The work will be undertaken with RCR’s joint venture partner WBHO Infrastructure. Entura will undertake the electrical Balance of Plant design of substations and Medium-Voltage (MV) collection system.

Located at the western end of the Parwan Valley, near Ballan, approximately one hour from Melbourne, the 30MW Yaloak South Wind Farm will comprise 14 Senvion turbines. When completed, the wind farm will be capable of producing enough electricity to power 15,700 homes and abate approximately 70,667 tonnes of greenhouse gas pollution per year.

Commenting on the appointment, Entura Managing Director Tammy Chu said: “We’re delighted to be working with RCR on this exciting project that will contribute to the introduction of more renewable energy to the Australian National Electricity Market.”

This engagement follows the appointment of Entura as independent advisor to Goldwind Australia during construction of the White Rock Wind Farm to provide engineering design review and site inspections for the balance of plant contract, which includes the main wind farm civil and electrical works.

As part of Hydro Tasmania, Australia’s largest renewable energy producer, Entura can draw on more than 20 years of experience developing and delivering wind farms at the forefront of the industry in Australia. Around the world, the firm has also been involved in more than 100 advanced and operational wind farm projects totalling over 20 000 MW in India, South Africa, Sri Lanka, China, the Philippines, New Zealand and the Pacific.